Posted on Leave a comment

Disney has changed the MCU timeline with Marvel’s What If…? falling in a decidedly unexpected position.

Marvel Cinematic Universe - Marvel Phase 4 - MCU Phase 4

Although Marvel’s What If? explores alternate “what if?” theories throughout the Marvel Cinematic Universe, it is an official part of the MCU canon. Would you have expected it to follow *after* Loki in the MCU timeline?

The first episode of Marvel’s What If? kicked off with a Captain America story that took place during World War II with the story narrated by The Watcher. This would lead you to presume Marvel’s What If took place much earlier. However, He Who Remains revealed in Loki, that the MCU timeline was no longer protected. Thus, Marvel’s What If? following Loki makes much more sense. Even though it follows stories throughout the MCU timeline, The Watcher’s place dictates its position in the official timeline.

According to Disney, here is the new official MCU timeline:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger
  2. Captain Marvel
  3. Iron Man
  4. Iron Man 2
  5. Thor
  6. The Avengers
  7. Thor: The Dark World
  8. Iron Man 3
  9. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  10. Guardians of the Galaxy
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  12. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  13. Ant-Man
  14. Captain America: Civil War
  15. Black Widow
  16. Black Panther
  17. Doctor Strange
  18. Thor: Ragnarok
  19. Ant-Man and the Wasp
  20. Avengers: Infinity War
  21. Avengers: Endgame
  22. Loki
  23. Marvel’s What If…?
  24. WandaVision
  25. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier