Posted on Leave a comment

With the new The High Republic, the official Star Wars timeline has been expanded and refined.

Star Wars timeline with new The High Republic

Introduced in January 2021, Star Wars: The High Republic takes Star Wars into a realm 200 years before Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999). The new High Republic franchise is told through various series including short stories, novels, comics, and an online web series. With the new saga comes a new, expanded and refined Star Wars timeline. Here are the new canonical Star Wars eras.

The High Republic

star wars the high republic era

The High Republic is the oldest era in the new Star Wars timeline. The Jedi Order reigns supreme and there is peace throughout the galaxy and expansion into the Outer Rim has begun.

The Fall of the Jedi

star wars fall of the jedi era

The prequel trilogy, Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999), Star Wars: Episode II – The Attack of the Clones (2002), and Star Wars: Episode III – The Revenge of the Sith (2005), take place during the Fall of the Jedi era. This is the era when Emperor Sheev Palpatine rose to power.

Reign of the Empire

star wars reign of the empire era

Solo: A Star Wars Story and The Bad Batch are set during the Reign of the Empire era. Imperial forces rule throughout the galaxy. The stories of popular characters such as Han Solo and Chewbacca took place during this era.

Age of Rebellion

star wars age of rebellion era

The original trilogy, Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977), Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980), and Star Wars: Episode VI – The Return of the Jedi (1983), Star Wars Rebels, and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2018), took place during the Age of Rebellion era. Han Solo, Princess Leia Organa, C-3PO, Chewbacca, and more are battling the Galactic Empire with the Rebellion.

The New Republic

star wars the new republic era

The Mandalorian, Ahsoka, Rangers of the New Republic, and The Book of Boba Fett take place during The New Republic era. The former Rebel Alliance has its own government on the core planets while the Outer Rim is controlled by the Imperial remnant.

Rise of the First Order

star wars rise of the first order era

The Skywalker Saga sequel trilogy — Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015), Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (2017), and Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker, take place during the Rise of the First Order. Supreme Leader Snoke, Kylo Ren, and the First Order stormtroopers rule.