Posted on Leave a comment

The Legend of Drizzt Books and the order they should be read in.

51 awGyImoL

Who was R.A. Salvatore

R.A. Salvatore is a renowned American author of numerous fantasy novels, including the popular Forgotten Realms series. Born in Leominster, Massachusetts in 1959, Salvatore developed an interest in fantasy and science fiction at a young age.

Salvatore’s passion for fantasy literature was ignited when he read J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings trilogy as a teenager. He was fascinated by the intricate world-building, the complex characters, and the epic battles. Salvatore began reading voraciously, consuming every fantasy book he could find, and soon discovered the works of authors such as Terry Brooks, Michael Moorcock, and Fritz Leiber.

During his college years, Salvatore continued to read and write, honing his craft and developing his own unique voice. He wrote several short stories and novellas, some of which were published in small magazines and anthologies. His big break came in 1982 when he published his first novel, The Crystal Shard, which was the first book in the popular Icewind Dale Trilogy. The book was an instant success, and Salvatore soon became a household name in the fantasy genre. The Icewind Dale Trilogy was followed by several more series, including The DemonWars Saga, The Dark Elf Trilogy, and The Legacy of the Drow series.

What are the Drizzt Do’Urden books about?

R.A. Salvatore’s The Drizzt Do’Urden books follow the adventures of the dark elf Drizzt and his companions. The series is set in the fictional world of the Forgotten Realms, a Dungeons & Dragons campaign setting. Drizzt is an unusual dark elf, as he rejects the evil ways of his people and sets out into the world to find his own path. He is a skilled warrior, trained in the use of two scimitars, which he wields with deadly accuracy. Throughout the series, Drizzt meets a diverse group of allies, including dwarves, humans, and other elves, and together they face off against various threats.

The series is known for its fast-paced action, detailed world-building, and complex characters. The books are full of battles against monstrous creatures, dark magic, and the treacherous politics of the Underdark, a subterranean world where many of the series’ events take place. One of the most fascinating aspects of the series is the character development of Drizzt, who struggles with his own identity as a dark elf in a world that hates and fears his kind. Despite this, he remains committed to his own principles of honor, loyalty, and friendship.

The series has been ongoing since 1988 and currently consists of over 30 novels, making it one of the longest-running and most beloved series in the fantasy genre.

Reading the Legent of Drizzt books in chronological order

Even though The Crystal Shard was Salvatore’s first publication in the series, it is not chronologically the first. Here is the order the Legend of Drizzt Books should be read in.

The Dark Elf Trilogy

  1. Homeland
  2. Exile
  3. Sojourn

The Icewind Dale Trilogy

  1. The Crystal Shard
  2. Streams of Silver
  3. The Halfling’s Gem

The Stone of Tymora (Young Adult)

  1. The Stowaway
  2. The Shadowmask
  3. The Sentinels

The Cleric Quintet

  1. Canticle
  2. In Sylvan Shadows
  3. Night Masks
  4. The Fallen Fortress
  5. The Chaos Curse

The Legacy of the Drow Quartet

  1. The Legacy
  2. Starless Night
  3. Siege of Darkness
  4. Passage to Dawn

Paths of Darkness Trilogy

  1. The Silent Blade
  2. The Spine of the World
  3. Sea of Swords

The Sellswords Trilogy

  1. The Servant of the Shard
  2. Promise of the Witch King
  3. Road of the Patriarch

The Hunter’s Blades Trilogy

  1. The Thousand Orcs
  2. The Lone Drow
  3. The Two Swords

Transitions Trilogy

  1. The Orc King
  2. The Pirate King
  3. The Ghost King

Neverwinter Saga Quartet

  1. Gauntlgrym
  2. Neverwinter
  3. Charon’s Claw
  4. The Last Threshhold

Sundering Book 1

  1. The Companions

Companions Codex Trilogy

  1. Night of the Hunter
  2. Rise of the King
  3. Vengeance of the Iron Dwarf

Homecoming Trilogy

  1. Archmage
  2. Maestro
  3. Hero

Generations Trilogy

  1. Timeless
  2. Boundless
  3. Relentless

The Way of the Drow

  1. Starlight Enclave
  2. Glacier’s Edge
  3. Lolth’s Warrior (Expected: August 15, 2023)

Supplemental Books

The Collected Stories: The Legend of Drizzt

Legend of Drizzt Books in Order of Publication

The Legend of Drizzt books in order by their publication date.

  1. The Crystal Shard (1988) (Icewind Dale Trilogy)
  2. Streams of Silver (1989) (IDT)
  3. The Halfling’s Gem (1990) (IDT)
  4. Homeland (1990) (Dark Elf Trilogy)
  5. Exile (1990) (DET)
  6. Sojourn (1991) (DET)
  7. Canticle (1991) (Cleric Quintet)
  8. In Sylvan Shadows (1992) (CQ)
  9. Night Masks (1992) (CQ)
  10. The Legacy (1992) (Legacy of the Drow Quartet)
  11. Starless Night (1993) (LDQ)
  12. The Fallen Fortress (1993) (CQ)
  13. Siege of Darkness (1994) (LDQ)
  14. The Chaos Curse (1994) (CQ)
  15. Passage to Dawn (1996) (LDQ)
  16. The Silent Blade (1998) (Paths of Darkness Trilogy)
  17. The Spine of the World (1999) (PDT)
  18. The Servant of the Shard (2000) (Sellwords Trilogy)
  19. Sea of Swords (2001) (PDT)
  20. The Thousand Orcs (2002) (Hunter’s Blades Trilogy)
  21. The Lone Drow (2003) (HBT)
  22. The Two Swords (2004) (HBT)
  23. Promise of the Witch King (2005) (ST)
  24. Road of the Patriarch (2006) (ST)
  25. The Orc King (2007) (Transitions Trilogy)
  26. The Pirate King (2008) (TT)
  27. The Stowaway (2008) w/ Geno Salvatore (The Stone of Tymora Trilogy)
  28. The Ghost King (2009) (TT)
  29. The Shadowmask (2009) w/ Geno Salvatore (STT)
  30. Gauntlgrym (2010) (Neverwinter Saga Quartet)
  31. The Sentinels (2010) w/ Geno Salvatore (STT)
  32. Neverwinter (2011) (NSQ)
  33. Charon’s Claw (2012) (NSQ)
  34. The Last Threshhold (2013) (NSQ)
  35. The Companions (2013)
  36. Night of the Hunter (2014) (Companions Codex Trilogy)
  37. Rise of the King (2014) (CCT)
  38. Vengeance of the Iron Dwarf (2015) (CCT)
  39. Archmage (2015) (Homecoming Trilogy)
  40. Maestro (2016) (HT)
  41. Hero (2016) (HT)
  42. Timeless (2018) (Generations Trilogy)
  43. Boundless (2019) (GT)
  44. Relentless (2020) (GT)
  45. Starlight Enclave (2021) (The Way of the Drow)
  46. Glacier’s Edge (2022) (TWD)
  47. Lolth’s Warrior (Expected: August 15, 2023) (TWD)

Supplemental Books

The Collected Stories: The Legend of Drizzt (2011)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *